Now in its tenth year, Spotlight First Novel Competition is our way of celebrating and encouraging new writers. Every year we profile the winner and offer them transitional support.

The competition has a well documented knack of highlighting the writers of the future. Success stories include Philip Bowne, Cows Can’t Jump (Neem Tree Press 2020): Kate Swindlehurst with her memoir, The Tango Effect (Unbound 2020): Zoe Gilbert, Folk (Bloomsbury 2018). 

So far, seven of our shortlisted writers have gone on to mainstream success. Previous shortlisted writers now published (or about to be) include:

2020 Emma Hughes

2018 Sophie Haydock

2016 Michelle Kenney

2016 Felicia Yap

2015 Annabel Abbs

2014 Mary Paulson Eliis

2013 Jessie Kidd

Read Philip Bowne’s Spotlight experience.

Further information about the competition.

Next deadline: 14th February 2021.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This